How Long Do People Have to Register as Sex Offenders in Oklahoma?


Being convicted of a sex crime can result in more than just time in prison. Even after your release, you will have to register as a sex offender, which is often the most challenging factor of sentencing for a sex crime conviction. As a registered sex offender, you will have severe residency restrictions and, even after you find housing, the general public and your neighbors may be notified of your address. Moreover, you may not be allowed any contact with minors and, as a result, cannot visit playgrounds, parks, or schools.

More About Registering as a Sex Offender

Given all the restrictions, limitations, and inconveniences associated with being a registered sex offender, one of the biggest concerns is the amount of time one has to remain registered. The length of time you are required to be a registered sex offender will vary based on the specific details of your case. Under federal law, each state must designate a system that classifies sex offenders according to the severity and the likelihood of a repeat offense.

Oklahoma uses a 3-tier system:

  • Level 1 includes assault with intent to commit a felony, caretaker abuse or neglect, sodomy, aggravated possession of child pornography, indecent exposure, and participation of child pornography.
  • Level 2 includes solicitation of minors, procuring a child under the age of 18 for prostitution or other indecent acts, soliciting sexual conduct with a minor by use of a technology, and restraining a child under the age of 18 for prostitution.
  • Level 3 includes incest, rape in the first degree, rape in the second degree, kidnapping if the offense involved sexual abuse, forcible sodomy, trafficking of children for sex, and subsequent sex offense convictions.

The length of time you will have to be a registered sex offender is as follows:

  • Level 1: You must register with local law enforcement every year for 15 years.
  • Level 2: You must register with local law enforcement every 6 months for 25 years.
  • Level 3: You must register with local law enforcement every 90 days for life.

As you can see, the consequences of a conviction can be extensive, which is why it is crucial to hire an experienced attorney if you are being accused of a sex crime.

Schedule a Free 10-Minute Consultation with an Experienced Sex Crimes Attorney Today!

The penalties for the conviction of a sex crime can potentially last a lifetime, so if you are facing these serious charges, it is crucial to hire a skilled attorney. At Enlow Law, our criminal defense attorneys will fight tirelessly on your behalf to protect your future.

Reach out to our law office today at (918) 212-5359 to schedule a free 10-minute consultation with one of our attorneys.