As of 2019, Oklahoma is an "open-carry" state that allows adults 21 or older to carry guns without a permit, as long as they have a legitimate purpose and aren't breaking any other laws. Active duty military and veterans over the age of 18 can also carry a firearm in public without a license. A person’s weapon must be holstered or slung if it’s not concealed.
Oklahoma also has a different law that allows people to openly carry both loaded and unloaded shotguns, rifles, and handguns without a license if they are:
- Defending themselves on private property
- Target shooting
- Participating or preparing for a military function
- Participating in or in preparing for a recognized police function
- Practicing for or a performance for entertainment purposes
You can’t carry a firearm in Oklahoma if you've been convicted of any of the following criminal offenses:
- Aggravated assault and battery
- Domestic violence
- Violating a domestic violence protection order
- Illegal drug possession or use
Undocumented immigrants are also banned from carrying handguns and dangerous firearms in Oklahoma.
Can I Carry a Gun in My Glove Box?
As long as you are not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm, you can transport a pistol or handgun, loaded or unloaded, at any time in a motor vehicle.
You can also transport a rifle or shotgun, open or concealed, in a motor vehicle, as long as you’re not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm. If you have a rifle or shotgun in your car, it cannot be chamber loaded. If the rifle or shotgun is clip or magazine-loaded, then it must be in an exterior locked compartment, the trunk, or in the interior compartment of the vehicle.
Where Are Guns Restricted in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma law prohibits carrying handguns in in the following places:
- Jails and prisons
- Government buildings
- Offices used for public business
- Colleges, universities, or technology center schools
- Publicly owned sports venues during pro games
- Legal gambling establishments
Is It a Felony to Carry a Gun in a Bar or While Under the Influence?
In Oklahoma, you can face a felony charge that is punishable by up to two years in prison and/or a fine of up to $1,000 if you bring a gun into a bar or other type of establishment where alcohol is consumed. Bar-owners, on-duty law enforcement officers, and private investigators are exempt from this law. If you have a concealed carry license, you can legally bring handguns into restaurants and other establishments where liquor sales aren't the main purpose of the business.
Oklahoma also has laws that make it illegal to carry or use guns while under the influence of alcohol, illegal drugs, or prescription drugs. If you are found guilty of using a gun while you are intoxicated, you can face 10 days to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of $50 to $500.
How Do You Obtain a License?
The state also issues handgun and concealed carry licenses to Oklahomans traveling to states that require the permits and recognize out-of-state licenses. To apply, you must meet all Oklahoma pistol license law requirements. The application must be processed at the local county office by the sheriff’s office. Oklahoma issues concealed pistol permits to individuals twenty-one or older who have the legal right to possess firearms in the state.
If you want to apply for an Oklahoma gun permit, you must meet all of the following requirements:
- You are at least twenty-one years old (military members must be eighteen years old)
- You are citizen of the United States of America
- You are a resident of Oklahoma
- You have either an Oklahoma driver’s license or a state issued identification card
- You complete an Oklahoma firearm training or have a letter of exemption
- You don’t have any felony convictions or have an ongoing felony charge
- You don’t have any suicide-related cases or mental instability in the ten years prior to applying for an Oklahoma concealed carry permit
- You are not a patient of any related mental illness in any health institution
- You don’t have a conviction for battery, violence, or stalking
- You haven’t violated the Protection from Domestic Act from Oklahoma or another state
- You don’t have any convictions for crimes related to the use of narcotics and other controlled substances by the DEA
- You don’t have any convictions for domestic violence or assault
- You don’t have multiple convictions for intoxication within the last three years before submitting your application
- You don’t have multiple convictions for driving under the influence of alcohol or any other intoxicating substance within the last three years before submitting your application
- There is no character evidence that proves you are a criminal or indicate crime activities
We Can Assist If You Are Facing Gun Crime Charges
Our highly skilled legal team at Enlow Law proudly help clients defend against criminal accusations after they’ve been arrested for gun crimes. We are committed to providing each of our clients with the personalized legal support they need to fight for justice. If you have been arrested or charged with a gun crime, then please reach out to us so that we can leverage our firm’s resources to fiercely advocate for your rights.
Call (918) 212-5359 or contact us online today to set up your case consultation.